Library resources to help you find primary sources for your class assignments.
A primary sources is a first-hand account. Our book collection includes many primary sources such as autobiograpies, speeches, interviews, and more. Search our book collection here:
- 1940s US Census Responses
"This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions."
- AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This page links to important documents for the study of American history from 1400 to the present. From the University of Kansas.
- American Memory
"American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections." Search or browse by topic, time period, geography, or format. From the Library of Congress.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes 19 SC newspapers.
- Digital Schomburg
A selection of images and texts from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Collections include African American Women Writers of the 19th Century and Images of African Americans from the 19th Century.
- Documenting the American South
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. DocSouth includes a growing suite of thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library."
- Early Canadiana Online
"A full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada."
- Making of America
"A digital full text library of primary resources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
"DigitalNC is the online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. This site contains digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina. The materials on this site are made freely available for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone who is interested in the history and culture of North Carolina."
- South Asian American Digital Archive
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) documents, preserves and provides access to the history of the South Asian American community.
- South Carolina Digital Library
"The South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions." The collection includes photos, personal papers, records, and more.
- University of North Carolina Digital Collections
Explore the rich resources of the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries in digital format, such as Hugh Morton's photographs, North Carolina maps, the Thomas Wolfe Collection, and the crucial North Carolina 1898 election.
- Veterans History Project
- Women Working, 1800-1930
"Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs."
- World Digital Library
"Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world." Sort materials by location and time through a visual interface.
- South Carolina State Library - Digital Collections
"An online library of both current and historical publications written by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions."